Call Now To See How We Can Help!(228) 300-4433

 McAlister Law Firm, LLC

How is reckless driving defined in Mississippi?

According to Mississippi Code § 63-3-1201, a person can be charged with reckless driving if they drive any vehicle “in such a manner as to indicate either a willful or a wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.” Reckless driving is a greater offense than just careless driving. The key word in this definition is “willful,” which implies that the reckless driving was intentional.

If a person is convicted of reckless driving, the punishment for a first conviction is a fine not less than five dollars and not more than $100. If the person is convicted a second time, they can be punished by jail time for not more than ten days or by a fine of up to $500. The defendant is also charged $90.50 for an assessment fee.

If you have questions about reckless driving, you should consult with a lawyer. A Reckless Driving Defense Attorney from McAlister Law Firm, LLC will help Relieve Reckless Driving charges and guide you through the legal process. If you live in or near Gulfport, Mississippi, call (228) 300-4433 for a consultation.

What is considered careless driving in Mississippi?

“Careless of imprudent driving” is defined as driving “in a careless or imprudent manner, without regard for the width, grade, curves, corner, traffic and use of the streets and highways and all other attendant circumstances.”

The differences between reckless driving and careless driving are not always very clear. Reckless driving is usually obviously dangerous in nature. Careless driving is more subtle and considered bad driving.

If one is convicted of careless driving in Mississippi, the defendant can be fined from $5 to $50, along with a $90.50 assessment fee.

If you have questions about the differences between careless driving and reckless driving, you should consult with a lawyer. The Careless Driving Accident Lawyers at McAlister Law Firm, LLC can answer all your questions and help minimize any possible consequences. If you are located in or near Gulfport, Mississippi, call (228) 300-4433 for a consultation.

Are reckless driving or careless driving considered felonies?

In most cases, both reckless driving and careless driving are charged as misdemeanors. In addition to the fines a defendant might be required to pay, there could be other consequences. A person convicted of either could be in danger of having their license suspended. Their automobile insurance rates might increase. It could also affect the defendant’s current or future employment.

If you have been charged with reckless driving or careless driving, you should seek the assistance of an experienced Reckless Driving Lawyer. The attorneys at McAlister Law Firm, LLC will represent you and your best interests throughout the entire legal process. If you live in or near Gulfport, Mississippi, call (228) 300-4433 for a consultation.

Who is the best Reckless Driving Lawyer near me?

With over 21 years of experience in litigation, the lawyers at McAlister Law Firm are leading the way in Reckless Driving cases mitigation in Gulfport, Mississippi. If you have been charged with reckless driving or careless driving and you live in or near Gulfport, Mississippi, then you cannot go wrong hiring McAlister Law Firm, LLC. Call (228) 300-4433 for a consultation.

McAlister Law Firm, LLC

Call Now To See How We Can Help!
(228) 300-4433