In Mississippi, simple assault has many factors that can worsen the penalties incurred. If any number of those factors are triggered, the consequences rise steeply from a possible $500 fine and up to six months in jail to up to 20 years and a much heftier fine. In these cases, contacting a Mississippi Criminal Defense Lawyer is imperative because litigation will almost certainly be necessary. By proving intent, discrimination, or extent of injury, the charges can be significantly swung either in your favor or not.
Simple assault occurs under many circumstances and does not even necessarily require physical contact or injury to be charged. However, there are common defenses for simple assault. With over 20 years of experience in the courtroom, Carolyn McAlister is ready to represent you and provide the expertise necessary to sway the situation in your favor.
Self-defense is a common defense of simple assault, and if proven, it can help your case tremendously. In order for this to be effective, though, you will need an attorney with in-depth knowledge of the state laws and all of the classifications of self-defense and simple assault. Contact McAlister Law Firm, LLC, today to set up a free consultation and discuss the details of your case.
Call Now To See How We Can Help!